ladies and gentlemen… the cat is partially out of the bag!!!

so we told my parents that they were going to be grandparents… or that they are grandparents?… ah, well you know.

i was actually much more nervous than i thought i would be.  apparently my wife was also…

why?

i don’t think either of us could really say for sure…

she says it’s because now there’s proof we’ve had sex… to which i make the argument, we’ve been married for eight months. i’m sure people figured, by now, we’ve succumb to temptation… cause i’m weak, and she’s a real “looker”

but for whatever reason, we were both very anxious about the breaking of the news.

we just happened to be celebrating my fathers fiftieth birthday, and had pretty much planned out how we wanted to tell him.

scene;

we’re all sitting on the deck and we give him his gift, he pulls out the book we got him and starts flipping through some of the pages.  we tell him why we picked this one for him, he thanks us and starts to read a passage to himself… and then i slip the news right in there… here goes. “yeah” i said, “we’ve got one more gift for you, but you have to wait another eight months to get it”…

(crickets)

… right about there is the point where i anticipated there being some laughing, hugging and all around good time celebrations to break loose…

oh well… so much for my plans…

instead, i give my little line about “eight months” and no one does anything… they don’t even look at us!  what?!?

did they not hear me?

i reiterate what i’ve said…

nothing…

are they purposefully ignoring? or hoping it’s all a dream? what is the flipping deal here?

i happen to notice my sister has finally connected the dots and is starting to tear up and laugh. phew, at least someone gets it! her boyfriend and my parents still remain unaware of the news…

heather and i exchange nervous glances right about… here…

my parents are still paying attention to the book, my sisters boyfriend is giving my sister an “i still don’t get it” kind of look… and all my sister can say is “eight months!” over and over…

FINALLY!!!

it clicks with my dad, he looks up at us and asks “are you pregnant?”

we give a confused nod, yes…

… and THERE is what we’ve been waiting two minutes for! all the “congratulations!” and the “i can’t believe its”, the hugging, the kissing, my heart resumes beating, and all is well.

it really was… unique… the way it all happened.

on that day, my parents found out they’re grandparents, and i found out they can be kind of clueless… or really clueless.

i suppose i’ll just say this, i don’t think it’s possible to give that kind of news and not get a great story from it.

why?

families are families.

and who doesn’t love that?

